Prairie Mango

Prairie Mango

Preparing to Declutter - Part 1

In preparation for decluttering my home in January, I’m starting to read Dana K. White’s Decluttering at the Speed of Life. Here’s my favourite piece of the prologue:

I’ve learned how to get rid of things even though I wanted to keep them all. I’ve learned to like living my life with only things that make it better. I’ve consciously decided to view my home as a place to live instead of a place to store all my great ideas and their attached stuff.

Yup, seeing my home as a place to store my future plans has been a major barrier for me when I’ve tried to declutter in the past. Getting rid of things sometimes feels like getting rid of my hopes and dreams. For example, it’s hard not to keep my enormous box of yarn, fiberfill and crochet hooks. One day, I hope to start crocheting again. Even though I haven’t opened it in over 5 years and know I’m not about to start crocheting any time soon, it’s still tough.